Home | Contact

The Awardees 1979-2003

The Awardee 2003
Kofi Annan, Secretary General of the United Nations
The Awardee 2002
Prof. Dr. Ruud Lubbers, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
The Awardees 2001
Lennart Meri, President of the Republic of Estonia
N.R. Narayana Murthy, Chairman and CEO, Infosys Technologies
The Awardees 2000
Jorma Olilla, Chairman & CEO, Nokia
Prof. Dr. Romano Prodi, President, European Commission
The Awardees 1999
Transparency International, Berlin (Dr. Peter Eigen)
The Economist, London (Bill Emmott)
The Awardees 1998
Prof. Jagdish Bhagwati, Arthur Lehman Professor of Economics and Political Science, Columbia
Sir Leon Brittan QC, Vice-President of the Commission of the European Union, Brussels
José Maria Figueres Olsen, President of Costa Rica, San José
The Awardees 1997
Rosmarie and Emanuel Berger, Grand Hotel Victoria-Jungfrau, Interlaken
Andreas Rihs and Beda Diethelm, Phonak AG, Stäfa
Moritz Suter, Crossair, Basel
The Awardees 1996
Sir Roger Douglas, former Minister of Finance, Aukland
Kjeld Kirk Kristiansen, President of Lego, Billund
The Awardees 1995
Dr. Anibal Cavaco Silva, Prime Minister of Portugal, Lisbon
Hernando de Soto, Director, Institute of Liberty and Democracy, Lima
Dr. Muhammad Yunus, President, Grameen Bank, Dhaka
The Awardees 1994
Brigit Breuel, Chief Executive Officer, Treuhandanstalt, Berlin
Mary Robinson, President of Ireland, Dublin
Dr. Hannah Suchocka, Member of Parliament, former Prime Minister Warsaw
The Awardees 1993
Nicolas Hayek, enterpreneuer, Zurich
Prof. Hermann Lübbe, philosopher and essayist, Zurich
Dr. Beat Richner, pediatrician and humanitarian, Zurich and Pnom Penh
The Awardees 1992
Dr. Carlos Salinas de Gortari, President of Mexico, Mexico City
Dr. Vaclav Klaus, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, CZ
The Awardees 1991
The International Committee of the Red Cross, Geneva
The Liberal Institute, Zurich
Edmond de Stoutz, founder and conductor of the Zurich Chamber Orchestra
The Awardees 1990
Radio Free Europe / Radio Liberty, Munich
Prof. Henri Rieben, Chairman, Jean Monnet Foundation for Europe
The Awardees 1989
Bill Bradley, U.S. Senator, Denville
Dr. Dres h.c. Arthur Dunkel, Director General of GATT, Geneva
The Awardees 1988
Dr. Mario Vargas Llosa, author, Lima und London
The Young Swiss Researchers, Winterthur
The Awardees 1987
Lane Kirkland, President of the American Federation of Labor Unions AFL-CIO, Washington D.C.
Prof. Hans Letsch, Business executive, politician and economist, Aarau
The Awardees 1986
The Association "Médecins sans frontières", Paris and Geneva
Gerd Bacher, Director of the Austrian Radio and Television ORF, Vienna (1986)
The Awardees 1985
Dr. Fred Luchsinger, former Editor of the "Neue Zürcher Zeitung", Forch
Raymond and Jean-Daniel Cornaz, Chairman and Managing Director of Vetropack, Bülach
The Awardees 1984
Dr. Paul R. Jolles, former State Secretary for Foreign Trade, Berne
Dr. Dres h.c. Fritz Leutwiler, former President of the Swiss National Bank and the Bank for International Settlements, Zurich and Basel
The Awardees 1983
Prof. Dr. h.c. Hans L. Merkle, industrialist, Chairman R. Bosch GmbH, Stuttgart
Stefan Kisielewski, author, composer and publicist, Warsaw
The Awardee 1982
The International and Swiss Girls and Boys Scouts' Movements
The Awardees 1981
Indro Montanelli, Editor of "Il Giornale Nuovo", Milan
The Rev. Karl Rohrbach, initiator of development projects in Togo, Widnau and Avedje
The Awardees 1980
Dr. h.c. Gaston Thorn, President of the Commission of the European Communities
Prof. Dr. Jeanne Hersch, philosopher and author, Geneva
The Awardees 1979
Robert Moss, Journalist, London
Prof. Dr. Hugo Sieber, economist, Berne